You ask how I am? 

All of us get asked how we are several times a day. We respond politely “fine thanks, how are you?”. What if we were to answer honestly, what if we were to take a leap of faith and open ourselves up, be vulnerable  answer with the truth. Open up a wound that we have placed a band aid on. Wouldn’t we understand each other more, wouldn’t we connect with others on a deeper level. The result maybe less people walking around alone, people looking into each other’s eyes and seeing an understanding.

So you ask me how I am? This is the answer, this is the raw painful truth.

I’m always walking around like I’m missing something, like I’m looking for someone. There is a loneliness when I stand, when I walk with my head down. I turn to grab my child’s hand so often and then I’m reminded he’s not here and never will be. 

My heart is broken into a thousand pieces and I can’t share how I’m feeling with anyone. 

I’m so god dam lonely in this world and I fear I will always feel like this. 

That’s how I am! 

You ask how I am? 

” I’m fine thanks” 

Leave a Reply

